Alachua County Library District Foundation, Inc.

401 E. University Ave.
Gainesville, Florida 32601




Related Links

Alachua County Library District

Friends of the Library


Alachua County Library District


Special events heighten community awareness of the Foundation and its purpose and goals. The Foundation holds its own events and sometimes participates in other community events.

Thirtieth Anniversary Foundation Meeting

Chair Bill Burger welcomed more than fifty Foundation Associates, Board members, guests, trustees, elected officials, and members of the Library staff to the Foundation’s Annual Meeting celebrating its Thirtieth Anniversary and held at Headquarters Library on Sunday, September 22, 2019.

Jean Chalmers, former Gainesville City Commissioner and Mayor Commissioner, was the guest speaker, addressing the topic of “Gainesville Highlights from the Last Sixty Years,” with an emphasis on the earliest thirty years of that time. In keeping with the anniversary celebration, the table decorations were stacks of major books published in 1989 (and still available from the Library) and strings of (fake) pearls, the symbol of thirtieth anniversaries. ACLD Director Shaney Livingston provided her overview of District accomplishments over the past year and plans for the future. She also thanked the Foundation for its continued supporting contributions to SnuggleUp Centers and Teen Areas at branch libraries. Director Livingston also introduced the ACLD staff members in attendance, including the new Facilities/Safety Services Administrator Michael McLaughlin.

Bill Burger presented the Chair’s Annual Report and Brian Gendreau provided the Treasurer’s Report. Membership Committee member Maggie MacDonald recognized the new Associates. Barbara Scott, after first recognizing Tom Rider, who was the Foundation’s first chair, led the election of Officers and new Board of Directors members, which resulted in the unanimous acceptance of those nominated. Elected to new two-year terms were Jon Reiskind as Chair and Mitzi Austin as Vice Chair; Brian Gendreau was re-elected to a two-year term as Treasurer. Eve Ackerman, Bill Burger, Donald Caton, Maggie MacDonald, Howard Rosenblatt, and Mary White were re-elected to three-year terms on the Board. Maggie MacDonald has one remaining year of her term as Secretary of the Foundation.



2019 Annual Katherine’s Tree Award Ceremony

On Sunday, March 10th, the Foundation held its fifth annual ceremony to recognize the previous year’s Katherine’s Tree leaf recipients.  Ann Clare LeZotte, Library Specialist at the Tower Road Branch Library, was the 2018 recipient of the annual Guy Hudspeth Award, joining the eleven previous award winners: Guy Hudspeth (2007) (for whom the award is named), Memree Stuart (2008), Martha Roberts (2009), Phillis Filer (2010), Ike Welch (2011), Darba Owens-Simmons (2012), Bruce Stewart (2013), Anita Jenkins-McCarter (2014), Kathi Harris (2015), Melanie Langsdale Aultman (2016), and Erin Phemester (2017).

The 2019 Guy Hudspeth Award winner, LeZotte has created programming for underserved populations including people with disabilities and the LGBTQ community.  She has overseen the Teen Art Show, My Little Pony Club, Sensory Storytime, ANIMATIONspace and led multiple American Sign Language classes. Le Zotte, who is deaf, currently works at the Tower Road Branch.

"During my nearly 11 years with ACLD, I've been amazed by the ways I can transform my personal experiences into a resource and tool to serve the community and educate my coworkers," LeZotte said.  "It gives me great joy to realize a library space where all kids, teens and their families are included."

Three other leaves honored the exceptional volunteer work over many years of John Ritter (a past FOL President), Ellen Smith (current Vice-President), and John C. Tucker (Newsletter Editor since 2007) for their dedication to the Friends of the Library.

Others who received leaves on Katherine’s Tree included Cecilia Anderson Caton (given by her husband Donald to recognize her birthday) and Charles “Ted” Gendreau, an avid reader (given in his memory by his son and daughterin-law Brian and Linda Gendreau.)

Each leaf on the tree represents a gift of $2,000 to the Alachua County Library District Foundation to help advance its support of the Library.

Non-Event Galas

Supporting the ACLD Foundation's "Non-Event Galas" allows us to put all donations toward building our library endowment fund.
2012 -- CHARLES DICKENS' 200th Birthday -- "Noted author Charles Dickens is the featured Guest ... However, for reasons beyond the Foundation’s control, Mr. Dickens will not be appearing live and in person for the 2012 Gala.  But the ACLD Foundation won’t let that stop them!  In honor of Mr. Dickens' 200th Birthday, the ACLD Foundation is celebrating with a 'non-event' ... Donors will be asked to think back to the first Dickens story they experienced:  A Tale of Two CitiesGreat ExpectationsA Christmas CarolOliver Twist?  Perhaps it was a copy checked out from a public library, lovingly worn and handled by countless readers ..."
2013 -- JANE AUSTEN -- Celebrating the 200th Anniversary of the publication of Pride and Prejudice -- "If the author could join us for our Gala there would be rout cakes and gingerbread, bread and butter and jam tarts ... Alas, Miss Austen cannot join us at our Gala in person, but you can brew yourself a cup of fine tea and relax in the comfort of your own home with a good book.  We know you would fit in with our non-event because as Jane said, 'My idea of good company is the company of clever well-informed people who have a good deal of conversation.'"
2014 -- PATRICK O'BRIAN'S 100th Birthday -- "You will be piped aboard our (non-existent) frigate, the Foundation, where, if this were a real event, you would have an evening of merriment featuring:
  • Sailors singing 'Sally in our Alley,' 'Nancy Dawson,' and 'Spanish Ladies'
  • Demonstrations of gunnery
  • Musical entertainment during supper to include performances Mozart’s Oboe Quartet in F Major
  • And, circumstances permitting, a trepanning performed by the noted physician, Dr. Maturin"